Hot Springs, NC!

Pig Pen and I got up early this morning and started hiking at 4:40 a.m. in order to get some experience hiking in the dark using our headlamps. Wessex surprisingly good time covering the 11miles to Hot Springs in just over four hours.
We enjoyed at big breakfast and then I went off to find a place to stay for the night (Pig Pen’s girlfriend will pick him up when she gets off work). I got a room at the Alpine Court motel, took a long shower and laid out my gear to check everything out and see how much food I need to buy to Verne to the next resupply location – Erwin, TN.
There are lots of WIFI hotspots in Hot Springs but AT&T cellular users are still out of luck. I went to the library to use a computer there and was as to have a good e-mail exchange with the Princess.
Pig Pen and I ran into Hurricane and had lunch together. After lunch I did my shopping, spent more time on the Internet and them met up with other thru-hikers at the local watering hole. I stayed for about an hour then said goodbye to Pig Pen and went back to my room to pack things up for an early start tomorrow. Pig Pen and I hope to meet up again down the trail.
I’m going to get to sleep early and try to get a good night sleep so that I can hit the trail early. I’ll be hiking solo but should meet up with Hurricane who’s staying at another hotel in town.
Here are photos of Hot Springs and some of the hikers at the local watering hole.

20130411-185318.jpg

20130411-185336.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hot Springs, NC!

  1. Hi I am so happy I found your weblog, I really found you by error, while
    I was browsing on Digg for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a tremendous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to browse it all at the minute but I have bookmarked
    it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    a lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic jo.

Leave a Reply

