Have You Seen My Phone?

This is the Princess posting for Walker. Yesterday afternoon I received the following text from a number I didn’t recognize: “I can’t find my phone in the Sassafras Gap Shelter about seven miles north of the Nantahala Outdoor Center. I hope it’s here in the shelter. If so, I’ll find it in the morning. If it’s not here I must have lost it on the trail. I used it to take a photo on the way up to the shelter. I’m in bad weather conditions (ice storm) but I’m fine in the shelter. I didn’t set up my tent because a lot of limbs and trees are falling. The weather is supposed to be warmer and clear tomorrow. I’ll let you know if I need you to call AT&T to have my phone turned off. So all is okay, don’t worry.”

You need to know that Walker rarely misplaces anything and it’s even rarer that he actually loses something, but I couldn’t figure out why he couldn’t find it if it was in the shelter, so I figured I would be calling AT&T. Alas, he phoned this afternoon saying he found his phone – it was under his sleeping bag. He went on to say that 18 people were packed in a shelter designed for 16 and that it was really messy. (This was his first night not sleeping in his private room tent.) He said the ice storm was wild!

In case you’re wondering, he uses his phone for calling, texting, checking email (occasionally), writing the blog and taking photographs.

He’s happily hiking along with a group of guys in their 20’s. He’s stocked up on food and is staying at the Hike Inn tonight. Tomorrow they will enter the Great Smoky Mountain National Park and cell phone connections will be sketchy for the next five days.

Image

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Have You Seen My Phone?

  1. Annette says:

    Thanks, Princess. Wow, an ice storm….glad he was in a shelter and glad he found his phone. I appreciate your updating his blog.

  2. Lyndsay sacre says:

    Thanks for update. Imagine doing this without a phone at all!! Good luck. Lyndsay

  3. Doug Dowdy says:

    Ice Storm!!! Glad he was in a shelter and not having to hike. Good news on the phone and the weather. I’m looking forward to a report on the first bear he sees. Last year I came across a Mom and three cubs on the trail, after having seen a yearling cross right in front of me.

    Go Walker!

  4. I’m sure he is looking forward to staying the night at the Hike Inn. I can’t imagine….ice storm!

  5. John in Milwaukee says:

    My name is John in Milwaukee Wisconsin. My wife Sues sister Kim and niece Kari are on the AT. They started 3/25. They are not posting so we found this site to see what the experience is all about. We both have been impressed by the entire world within the trail. Kim is 55 and Kari is 30. We are following your journey and it has been great to be on the inside. They are behind you so we can text some of your information to them. Keep on rockin in the free world.

  6. Theodora says:

    Go, Walker, go! You have the great support of your Princess…..and when the end is good, everything is good!
    OMG! What an experience – an ice storm!!! Take good care of yourself! Wish you luck!

  7. Dave Hansen says:

    Hi to the Princess! Russell Trimmer hit some big time wintry conditions in the Smokies the past few days according to Morris. Hope Walker gets some spring.

Leave a Reply

