Siler Bald to Tellico Gap & Aquone Hostel

I don’t have cell coverage here at the Aquone Hostel so I’m using the hostel computer and I need to keep it short so others can check their e-mail, etc.

I had another great day today hiking with Oxy, Puffy, Bojangles, and Postman. We hiked about 16 miles today in beautiful weather to get to Tellico Gap so that Steve (co-owner with wife Maggie of Aquone Hostel) could pick us up and take us to the hostel. It is a beautiful place, the prices are very reasonable and Steve and Maggie (both from England) couldn’t be nicer and more helpful. I’ll write a more full report of the Aquone Hostel tomorrow.

I really feel good physically so I’ve altered my schedule a little bit so that I can arrive at Fontana Dam and stay at The Hike Inn on Saturday night instead of Sunday night. So I’ll be ready to start through the Smokies on Sunday, weather permitting. I’m really excited about the Smokies and look forward to the first big challenge of the hike.

I appreciate all of the words of encouragement that you have been giving me. It really helps a lot and makes me feel that I have not lost contact with civilization.

Until tomorrow…

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Siler Bald to Tellico Gap & Aquone Hostel

  1. I’d love to see a photo of the Aquone Hostel. How does it compare to the albergues along the Camino?

  2. Lyndsay sacre says:

    Hi Tim, We are admiring your strength as I read your blog out to Alexis in the car on the way down to Athens to visit the archeological museum! Look forward to the next news. Lyndsay and Alexis

  3. Ann says:

    I thought you said you were going to take it easy?

Leave a Reply

