What’s In My Wallet?

Okay, it’s not really a wallet, just a small plastic bag. In it I keep some cash, my driver’s license, military i.d., credit card, ATM card, and a photograph of Shorty Jordan.
Shorty and his wife, Marlene, were close friends of the Princess’s parents and I got to know him when I started dating the Princess.
A couple of months before I started this hike Marlene contacted me to let me know that Shorty had always wanted to hike the AT but never had the chance. I offered to carry a photo of Shorty with me on my hike and Marlene sent me this photo of Shorty on the beach (see below).
Shorty was a great guy with a terrific sense oh humor. I’ve heard some really good Shorty stories from Memaw, the Princess’ mother.
Anyway, I’m honored to be doing this hike with Shorty and when I get to Mount Katahdin, the end of the trail in Maine, I’ll build a little memorial with rocks and leave Shorty’s photo there.

20130402-194726.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What’s In My Wallet?

  1. Annette says:

    What you are doing for Shorty and his wife is most touching.

  2. Jennifer Narron says:

    Yay, Shorty!!!!

  3. Gigi Jordan says:

    I am visiting Mom in Florida. She just came into the room and I said have you read the blog tonight?
    She replied no whats it about “Dad”. Oh! she sat down on the edge of my bed and said “read it to me”. Shedding just a few tears I read your blog. You will never know how much this means to all of us. My Dad’s picture is in your wallet but his spirit is following the AT trail to Katahdin on your shoulder : ). Thank-you Gigi

  4. Russ Watkins says:

    Hey Tim, Just want you to know I’m with you and excited about your AT journey. So glad you are making this happen, enjoy, enjoy. Russ

  5. Tim,you have made so many people happywith your BLOG I have given it to people I don.t even know!!
    I am sooooo proud of you!

  6. And, Jackie Palmer, I’m proud of YOU for figuring out how to leave a comment!

  7. Sounds like you’re doing great!

Leave a Reply

