My Easter Sunday “Nero”

I had a great time with my Dad and Marilyn on Easter Sunday. We went to their church, Blue Ridge Methodist, for a wonderful service with lots of music and a meaningful sermon entitled “A Graveyard Surprise”. I met lots of their church friends and even got a nice coffee mug for being a first-time visitor. I don’t want to carry the mug with me (it’s too heavy) so I left it at their house to use when I visit.
After church we went back to their house and had a delicious Easter dinner with Marilyn’s cousin, Marie, who lives across the street, and two of their friends from the neighborhood, Lois and Ina. The dinner conversation was fun, the food great of course, and it was nice to be with such good people at Easter.
After lunch we all loaded into my Dad’s car and drove back to Dick’s Creek Gap where they dropped me off at about 4:00. I walked 4.5 miles to the Plum Orchard Gap shelter and since it looked like it was going to rain I decided to stop there for the night. I set up my tent quickly and finished just as it started to rain.
There’s a group of about eight 20-something hikers in the shelter and after I got the tent set up I went over and talked to them until just before dark. So now I’m sitting in my tent listening to the rain and writing this blog post. It’s 8:45 p.m. and I haven’t gone to sleep yet – woohoo!
Tomorrow the weather is supposed to be nice so I’m hoping for a nice long day of hiking.

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Easter Sunday “Nero”

  1. Theodora says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ May a Guarding Angel be upon you all the way! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Annette says:

    I am so glad you had such a nice Easter with Marilyn and Bill. My church, too (The Neighborhood Church), had a glorious service. Have a wonderful day hiking!

Leave a Reply

