Bye Bye Georgia

This morning at about 9:00 I passed from my home state of Georgia into North Carolina (see photo). “Staff”, one of the 20-somethings that I met last night at Plum Orchard Gap was there getting water from a spring and I was able to pass the milestone with him. He is hiking with “Oxy” who had enjoyed some of the brownies that the Princess dropped at the Mountain Crossings hostel when we passed through there last Tuesday.
Last night I enjoyed a conversation between two owls. They have a very distinctive call. I also heard a large branch fall during the night which reminded me not to camp under trees with dead branches.
There was a beautiful sight this morning…as I walked along a high ridge I could see below me in the distance a thick low fog over either Lake Hiawasee or Lake Chatuge. Unfortunately I could not get a clear shot for a photo.
Right at lunchtime I came off a mountain into Deep Gap and experienced my second trail magic. Three ladies, one from Georgia and two from South Carolina, had driven over a hour and a half from their homes to set up trail magic. It was a terrific spread (see photo) and it was perfect timing for me since I wasn’t planning on much more than a chocolate Easter Bunny and a Clif Bar for lunch. I enjoyed watermelon, guacamole dip, honey baked ham, brownies, and a Mountain Dew. (I can’t believe I’ve had both a Mello Yellow and a Mountain Dew in the past few days.)
The other notable event of the day was that I passed over my first 5000 foot mountain – Standing Indian Mountain which is at 5498 feet.
Tonight I’m camped at Carter Gap Shelter at mile 93.9 on the trail, so tomorrow I’ll pass the 100-mile mark which is on Albert Mountain which is at 5250 feet.
The weather was perfect for hiking today and is supposed to be even better tomorrow so I’m looking forward to another great day of hiking.

20130401-175049.jpg

20130401-175310.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bye Bye Georgia

  1. Ellie says:

    You’re keeping a pretty aggressive pace! Is there a record for shortest time to complete the entire trail that you can beat?

    • Hi Ellie, I couldn’t even come close to the record. I’m just trying to do 15-20 miles a day. There’s not much else to do but walk anyway. I will probably do some short days this week because I’m ahead of my schedule and I have a hotel reservation for Sunday night at Fontana Dam, just before I start hiking through the Smokies.

  2. David Hansen says:

    Tim, Great stuff and following along vicariously! All the best, Dave

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Annette says:

    Another great day! I wish I could tell you that I made those brownies and guacamole and asked those ladies to meet you on the trail and deliver some wholesome food. They must be trail angels as well as trail magic. Seeing that fog over the lake in North Georgia will be a memory forever even if you couldn’t catch it with your camera. Love that you are attaching photos too.

  4. Awesome. Never heard of “trail magic” before. What a great concept! Happy trails.

  5. thanks for the “trail magic” info, I hope they come back in 2014

Leave a Reply

