Neel’s Gap to Blue Mtn. Shelter

Last night I camped just behind the Mountain Crossings building at Neel’s Gap. There were two other hikers at the campsite with me, Jacob and Emily from Boston. They are college students who have taken a semester off so that they can hike the AT. They are really nice and I hope to see them again.
I left at 8:00 this morning and did not see many thru-hikers throughout the day. I made a stop for lunch at Low Gap Shelter and met Hurricane from New Zealand. He is an experienced long-distance hiker who has already completed the Pacific Crest Trail. He said that he attempted the AT last year and made it as far as Damascus, Virginia but had to return home because his wife missed him too much. She must have gotten her fill of him because she cleared him to try it again this year.
After a short break at Low Gap I decided it was too early to stop hiking for the day so I continued on to Blue Mountain Shelter. It was a 20-mile day and I’m glad I did it but I may be a bit sore in the morning. There’s a great group at the shelter including Buffalo, Navigator, and Hard Ass. The shelter is completely full and there are a lot folks in tents too. Someone built a great campfire and we stayed up until 8:00, when it gets dark here, talking and laughing.
There was one sad thing about today… at some point in the middle of the day I came upon a young couple who had stopped on the trail and the woman was crying. It turns out that she had just gotten off the phone and received news of a death in her family. Her boyfriend said that they were going to have to hike eight miles to the nearest crossroads then catch a shuttle to the Atlanta airport to fly back home. I feel really sad for her.
If I feel good tomorrow I am going to try to do another 20 miles to Dick’s Gap so that I can go to church in Hiawasee on Sunday morning. It will be nice to go to church on Easter Sunday.

20130329-203356.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Neel’s Gap to Blue Mtn. Shelter

  1. Jennifer Narron says:

    Hi Uncle Tim! AC put up some stats about hikers finishing the AT. If anyone can do it, you can! Good luck and we’ll all be praying for good weather.

  2. Cathy says:

    Which one is your tent Walker? I like that you ‘stayed up’ until 8pm! It is a Friday night, after all.

  3. Drusie says:

    Walker, my nephew, Will Daniels (from Nova Scotia) started hiking the trail in Georgia about two weeks ago.

  4. Annette says:

    Hi Tim. You met up with some real characters if their names mean anything. Do other people call you “Walker”? I am sorry to hear of the young woman’s sad news. Last night must have been fun around the campfire…..just like the first time you went to camp:) Good for you going to church, too. Jim and friends are following you. Love, Mom

  5. Doug Dowdy says:

    Sounds like you are off to a great start! Just remember you are not a teenager, Don’t over do it. It’s a long haul…
    It’s a beautiful day here in Staunton, I’m off to hike part of the AT. Oh yes nice shadow picture,
    Hiker Boy

  6. Theodora says:

    Happy Easter, Walker! You are doing a great job! Thank you for sharing again your unique experience with us – your friends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

