Day 1 – Appalachian Trail

What a great first day! The Princess dropped me off at the Springer Mountain parking lot at 8:15. I was really sad to say goodbye to her but at the same time I was filled with excitement about this opportunity to hike the AT.
As she drove off I started walking the mile up to the Springer Mountain starting point. The weather was cold and the trail was icy. We kept waving to each other and she was taking photos until we were out of sight of each other.
At the Springer summit I took a photo of the plaque, signed the register and then had a lovely day hiking the 15.8 miles to the Gooch Mountain shelter where I set up my tent.
I met some interesting people today including Olavi from Estonia, Matt from Titusville, Florida, Mitch and his pitbull Bella, and several young military veterans.
Now I’m cooking my dinner and will turn in soon. It seems that most people get into their sleeping bags between 7:00 and 8:00 p.m. I know that I won’t be able to go to sleep that early so I’ll read the book I brought with me, “The Odyssey”. I don’t expect to sleep much so I may read the whole book!
Looking forward to another great day tomorrow!

20130327-174722.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 1 – Appalachian Trail

  1. Annette says:

    Yayyyy, Tim, I’m so glad that your first day is such a success!. 15.8 miles is a good hike and nice that you met some fellow hikers. Sleep tight…..Love, Mom

  2. MarySue Curran says:

    Good Luck! Stay healthy, safe and “warm”.

  3. Doug Dowdy says:

    Tim, I will be thinking about you while I am putting in some trail time around here. I walked and camped a lot of the first section of the trail as a boy scout. Look forward to hearing about your experiences and people you meet.

    Doug aka Hiker Boy

Leave a Reply

