Updated Gear and Clothing List

Several months ago I posted a list of my backpacking gear and clothing but that list is now obsolete. When I wrote that post I had no idea how obsessed I would become with keeping my pack weight low, how much good advice I would get from more experienced hikers, and how focused I would become on staying warm during an early spring backpacking trip in could possibly be unseasonably cold weather.

So here’s my current gear list which should not change since my start date is so close (3/27):

1. On my back…

  • Pack – GoLite Jam (50 liter)
  • Pack cover – Sea-to-Summit
  • Tent – MSR Hubba, poles, stakes, footprint
  • Sleeping bag – Mtn. Hardwear synthetic 15 degree bag
  • Compression sack – Sea-to-Summit waterproof
  • Sleeping pad – Thermarest Z-Lite 3/4
  • Stove – MSR MicroRocket, MSR Titan pot, gas canister, spork
  • Water bottles – One Nalgene and one large bicycle type water bottle
  • Purification – SteriPEN (w/extra batteries)
  • Clothes bag – down jacket, rain pants, base layer bottom, 2pr socks, warm hat, gloves and liners
  • Shell jacket – Arc’teryx Gore-Tex
  • Camp shoes – Sloggers (like Crocs but lighter)
  • Toiletry bag – Granite Gear stuff sack w/toiletries, meds, first aid kit, and other essentials
  • Food bag – Sea-to-Summit waterproof stuff sack, 50′ line and carabiner for bear bagging
  • Plastic bags – compactor bag to line inside of pack and extra ziplock bags for storage
  • Guidebook – AWOL’s 2013 edition (I’ll carry 1/3 of the guide at a time)
  • iPhone, Mophie case, cable, headphones
  • Headlamp – Petzl Zipka Plus
  • Emergency Light – Photon
  • Knife – Swiss Army Classic
  • Book – The Odyssey by Homer (it’s small and seems appropriate)
  • Reading glasses
  • Bandanas – one Buff and one regular bandana
  • Sunscreen and lip balm

2. On my body…

  • Keen Voyageur hiking shoes
  • SmartWool short hiking socks
  • Shorts – Patagonia Baggies (great shorts, I’m on my third pair)
  • SmartWool T-shirt
  • SmartWool long sleeve zip base layer
  • Ball cap
  • Watch
  • Leki hiking poles (w/12” of duct tape wrapped around each pole)

Yesterday I routed my training hike so that I could stop by a local college and weigh the pack on the wrestler’s scale in the gym. The basic weight of the pack is 17 pounds and the food bag with three days of food weighs five pounds. So my total weight without water is 22 pounds. The amount of water that I carry will vary depending on the availability of water on the trail but I plan to drink as much water as I can each morning (called “cameling up”) then carry one liter of water which weighs a little over two pounds. So the most that I will have to carry is 24 pounds unless I need extra food or water for some reason.

Once the weather warms up in early to mid-May I should be able to send home a lot of the warm clothes and get a lighter sleeping bag that is rated to 40 degress. I should be able to lighten my load by about three pounds which will save wear and tear on my body.

So that’s my equipment and clothing for the start of the AT!

 

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Updated Gear and Clothing List

  1. Ken Hawkins says:

    Great list! To save a few more ounces, you might want to replace the Nalgene with a grocery store water bottle.Hope you have a great hike!

    • I’d like to, Ken, but the SteriPEN requires you to have a bottle with a wide mouth. The Nalgene I’m taking is one of the older ones that’s pretty light, not nearly as heavy as the newer shiny ones.

  2. Joe says:

    Footprint? I think I’d leave it.

    • The only reason that I’m taking it is that it enables me to set up the rain fly without using the tent. This helps when setting up in the rain. You can set up the rain fly the set up the tent from inside the rain fly and not get the tent wet.

Leave a Reply

