The Big Snowstorm!

20130307-075534.jpg
“It’s all fun and games ’til the power goes out…”
The snowstorm of March 2013 was just as big as they had predicted. In Lexington we got 6-8″ and up in the mountains there is much more. A relative who lives just west of Shenandoah National Park texted to say that he had 17″. Wow!
Our power has gone out, come back on, and is now out again. All of the utility cables in are neighborhood are underground so we rarely lose power for very long. Two reps from Dominion Power came by this morning to check it out and it looks like the transformer that feeds our house and one other house is not working. All of the other houses in our neighborhood have power, so I guess we just had bad luck this time. There is a silver lining, though. I get to practice writing a blog post from my phone.
Yesterday I got in a good 8-mile training hike while the snow was still coming down. I wore my full pack and got to test my shell, rain pants, and gaiters. Everything worked well but my feet got a bit wet from walking through slush. I know this is to be expected and as long as they don’t get cold or develop blisters, it’s not a problem.
Last year on the Camino I hiked in the rain for three days – the last two days I averaged twenty-seven miles per day – and did not get blisters even though my feet were soaked. The hike yesterday confirmed my confidence in my Smartwool socks and Keen Voyageur hiking shoes.
In addition to the hike, I got to get some exercise shoveling the driveway and helping the Princess build a snowman (photo above). I also called the proprietor of The Blueberry Patch hostel near Hiawasee, Georgia. he sounded like a really nice fellow and gave me very clear instructions about how to contact him for a ride from the trail to the hostel. He also said that he’d give me a ride from the hostel to Hiawasee (8miles) so that I can pick up supplies at the grocery store.
Last night the Princess and I had dinner at the local Mexican restaurant (it was apparently the only restaurant in town with power), read by headlamp, and went to bed early. Thanks to our down comforter we stayed nice and warm.
I’ll close for now but will be writing a new post on my latest, and hopefully final, list of equipment and clothing list. I’ve made a few last minute changes…I can’t believe how obsessed I am with finding lightweight and compact gear!

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

