My AT Gear List

An important part of the AT thru-hike planning process is buying (or borrowing) and testing the clothing and other gear that will support you for about five months. There’s so much information available on the internet that it can be overwhelming so it’s helpful to get advice and recommendations from more experienced hikers and people who work at reputable outfitters.

One key point to remember is that there is rarely agreement on any specific piece of gear and while it is useful to listen to many different opinions, in the end you’ll have to make your own decision about what works best for you.

I do know that I would like to keep my total pack weight with water and a 4-day food supply to 25 pounds maximum. This will allow me to hike more miles with less effort and will also save wear and tear on my knees and other critical body parts. (At age 55 I know that I need to be smart about how much I carry and how many miles I put in each day.)

So here’s my current gear list which will be edited as I fine tune my gear:

1. On my back…

  • Pack – GoLite Jam (50 liter)
  • Pack cover – REI
  • Tent – MSR Hubba, poles, stakes, footprint
  • Sleeping bag – Mtn. Hardwear synthetic 15 degree bag
  • Compression sack – Sea to Summit waterproof
  • Bag liner – Sea to Summit Reactor (if needed)
  • Sleeping pad – Thermarest 3/4
  • Stove – Jetboil Flash, canister, spork, Lexan knife (if I choose hot meals)
  • Hydration reservoir – Osprey 2 liter
  • Water bottle – Gatorade bottle
  • Purification – SteriPEN (Potable Aqua tabs as a backup)
  • Clothes bag – puffy jacket, rain pants, base layer top and bottom, 2pr socks, 1 pr underwear, warm hat, gloves and liners, balaclava
  • Shell jacket – Arc’teryx Gore-Tex
  • Toiletry bag – toiletries, other essentials, prescriptions and first aid kit
  • Food bag – waterproof stuff sack (10 L?)
  • Plastic bags – garbage bag and extra ziplock bags
  • Guidebook – AWOL’s 2013 edition
  • iPhone, Mophie case and cable
  • Headlamp – Petzl
  • Multi-tool – Leatherman mini
  • Batteries – for headlamp and SteriPEN
  • Book – not “War and Peace”
  • Reading glasses
  • Bandanas – one Buff and one regular bandana

2. On my body…

  • Keen Voyageur hiking shoes
  • Smartwool low hiking socks
  • ExOfficio underwear
  • North Face convertible pants or Patagonia shorts (need to decide)
  • Smartwool T-shirt
  • Smartwool long sleeve zip base layer
  • Ball cap
  • Watch
  • Leki hiking poles

 

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

