And We’re Off

Today we drove to Journey’s End, the northern terminus of the Long Trail. We walked in on the approach trail to the Canadian border where The Long Trail begins. Then we hike on to the Shooting Star shelter where we are camped for the night. Our total mileage for the day was a little over six miles. We started walking at 3:00 and got to Shooting Star at 6:00. Everyone is a good hiker and we had a great day. Tomorrow we’ll hit some bigger peaks and we’ll cover either 6 or 10 miles, depending on how everyone feels. I’m pretty confident we can do ten.
Some of the students have already picked up trail names. Griffin is ‘Aviator’ because he flies down the trail. Julia is ‘Jukebox’ because she always has a song in her head. Derek is ‘Ghost’ but I’m not sure how he got that name. I’ll ask him tomorrow and report back to you.

20140827-203212.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And We’re Off

  1. Jim Karis says:

    Tim, I’m wishing all the adventerous seven good luck on the start of the journey. WordPress keeps asking me for a new password. Hope this goes thru. Jim

  2. buddyjohnson1 says:

    A great looking group of hikers May the journey be happy, safe and full of adventure

  3. Annette King says:

    I am thinking about you on your second day and wishing you all a great hike. It will be interesting to hear about the differences between hiking The Long Trail and The Appalachian Trail with the exception of the obvious length difference.

Leave a comment